IELTS is the International English Language Testing System which tests English proficiency across the globe. IELTS is jointly owned by British Council, IDP Australia and Cambridge English Language Assessment through more than 1000 locations across 140 countries.

IELTS is the world’s most popular test of English for higher education and global migration. This continues the important role which IELTS has long played in language testing for study and immigration in the UK and other countries, including Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

IELTS tests the four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking. IELTS is a secure, valid and reliable test of real-life ability to communicate in English for education, immigration and professional accreditation.

Candidates can sit an IELTS test in over 1,000 centres and locations around the world. This global test has the highest levels of quality control. Conducting 1.4 million tests globally.


Candidate can choose from two types of IELTS test: Academic, General Training, or UKVI Approved depending on whether you want to study, work or migrate. Both modules are made up of four parts – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. IELTS results are graded on the unique IELTS 9-band scale.

IELTS test has two modules:


1. Academic Module

This module is suitable for students who are willing to complete academic studies at degree level in an English-speaking country.


2.General Training Module

This module is suitable for people who are willing to work or immigrate

to any English-speaking country.

Structure of IELTS examination:


Both the Academic & General Training Modules consist of four sections

listed below and the exam takes 2 hours and 45 minutes to complete.














No one passes or fails in this examination. IELTS is scored on a nine-band scale (0-9), an average of all 4 sections is considered as an Overall Band Score. For example, if a student has scored as follows: Listening‏‎ (7 bands), Reading (8 bands), Writing ‏‎(8 bands), and Speaking ‏‎(7 bands), they will be given an overall band of 7+8+8+7= 30/4 i.e overall 7.5 bands.

What is the scoring scale for the IELTS?

  • Scoring is between 0 (minimum) and 9 (maximum) with 0.5 band increment. Four scores are reported on the IELTS™:

  • Reading score reported on a 0-9 band scale, with 0.5 band increment

  • Listening score reported on a 0-9 band scale, with 0.5 band increment

  • Writing score reported on a 0-9 band scale, with 0.5 band increment

  • Speaking score reported on a 0-9 band scale, with 0.5 band increment

Ace your IELTS score with HSG

Request For a Free Demo/ Profile Evaluation

Test Preparation




How can I register for the IELTS test?

You can register for the IELTS test online, in-person or by completing a form.

How long is an IELTS score valid?

IELTS score is valid 2 years.

How soon can a candidate resit the test?

A candidate may resit the IELTS test at any time.

How soon do I get my score?

The scores are available 13 days after the exam date.

What is the cost/registration fee of IELTS?

The IELTS test fee is INR 14000.

About HSG

We, at Hello Study Global, are driven by our resolve to ensure that your study abroad dreams reach fulfillment. We work tirelessly towards the singular goal of assuring quality education for each of our students. We are a one-stop destination for all your study abroad needs. We provide comprehensive online training in SAT, GRE, GMAT, ACT, IELTS, TOEFL, LSAT, and PSAT, as well as admissions counseling.

Quick Links

Contact Us

New Delhi, India; USA, UAE, Ontario, Canada

©  All Rights Reserved By Hello Study Global, New Delhi, India.